The finalists  of the competition (with no particular order):

  • SSHH: Ahmed Kheiri, University of Exeter
  • Hust.Smart: Zhouxing Su, Zhuo Wang, Zhipeng Lü, Laboratory of Smart Computing and Optimization, School of Computer Science and Technology, Huazhong University of Science and Technology, Wuhan 430074, P.R. China.
  • NurseOptimizers: Michael Römer, Taieb Mellouli, Institute of Business Information Systems and Operations Research, Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg
  • ORTEC: Hujin Jin, Gerhard Post, Egbert van der Veen, ORTEC
  • Polytechnique Montreal: Legrain Antoine, Omer Jérémy, Rosat Samuel, Polytechnique Montreal
  • ThreeJohns: Tassopoulos X. Ioannis, Solos P. Ioannis, Beligiannis N. Grigorios, University of Patras, Greece
  • LabGOL: Federica Picca Nicolino, Francesco Bagattini, Luca Bravi, Niccolò Bulgarini, Alessandro Galligari, Fabio Schoen, Università degli Studi di Firenze, Italy

Selection procedure and ranking on late instances:

We were happy to receive 15 submissions to the competition. The selection procedure for choosing the finalists was as follow: we first ranked the competitors based on the submitted results solely, then we started running the algorithms for the top five, and then one by one, until the gap with the next competitor is positive in both the submitted results and our validated results. We ended up with 7 finalists for the hidden phase. Participant teams’ names and details on their submitted results and validated results can be found in: